About the WKR

The WKR is tasked with delivering science-based, strategic climate policy advice for the Dutch government and parliament, both solicited and unsolicited. The WKR works independently and interdisciplinary, and mainly focuses on the long term in their advice reports.

The council consists of 10 members from a variety of complementary scientific disciplines. These include ethics, environmental psychology, economics, atmospheric science, climatology, and public administration. Being a council member is a part-time job, which is often combined with regular academic work and international (climate) research. The members of the council are appointed by the Dutch government.

Current members of the WKR are:

The council-members are supported by an executive secretariat consisting of professional advisors, headed by a secretary-director. The current secretary-director of the WKR is dr. Ruud van den Brink.